A Brief History of Art and Science / MM01

Mans' Evolution
Man’s evolution

This one is MM02. M, one of her initials. M, Mumbai. #2.

I met MM02 the other day over coffee. Black. Check. After a detailed discussion about locations, coffee shops and other places, we settled on a Bru. Check. Apart from Starbucks, Bru is probably the closest to a perfect coffee shop.

Like most meetings, I reached early. About two hours sooner than the time we had agreed on. But that was okay by me. It gave me time to work on my book (yeah, I am a writer, who’s trying to write books and make money). She texted and said she would be on time. Check. And she was. Check. Dressed in all black. Check.

Brief background here. Unlike other “dates,” this one just happened. As if it were meant to. We would have exchanged less than 20 messages and she popped up the question. And I said yes.

So she came, in all black, and after the initial awkwardness, we got talking. Like really talking!

The date, ladies and gents, went like that space rocket thats just meant to go up and up and up. There is no looking back. You know you are on a ride of a lifetime and even if you want to bail out, you can’t. It was that awesome. And just when I thought I have found that person, the rocket I was on, suddenly started plunging towards Mother Earth. So fast that I couldn’t believe that I was actually on moon a few seconds ago.

As the date ended, when the rocket stopped ascending into the infinite black vastness, it left this huge gaping void in my head, in my heart. It was so big, so vast, so hurtful that all the stars and moons around me couldn’t fill it. It’s been almost a week since I met her and I still think about her. And it still sucks to know that I am not meeting her again.

Thing is, I am very lucky to have met quite a few women – all of them great in their own way – but MM02 was truly different. She could talk about art, science, writing, philosophy, history, Darwin, evolution, Vienna Circle (which I had no clue about before she told me about), Karl Marx, The Big Bang Theory (not the show), creationism etc etc. To someone like me, who gets moved by intelligence and knowledge, it was like a dream come true. I was sent back to those days in school when I had a crush on my computer teacher. And my science teacher. And my history teacher. And every other teacher who helped me satiate my infinite curiosity. MM02 was so so cool that I could sit and listen to her for the rest of my life time.

Of course she had other ideas. I was way too inferior for someone like her. While I am a great conversationalist most times, with her, I had a hard time keeping up. I had to continuously prod her and get her to talk about things. It was like shaking the hornet’s nest, not knowing what spew of knowledge would come out and sting me by making me aware of my ignorance. And like any other act of “inviting” danger, it was exciting, scary and exhilarating.

Coming back, I don’t even remember the wide range of things we spoke about. If there is an equivalent of a crash course in education, I got it. In like an hour. If there is an equivalent of a TV show where great species are showcased, MM02 would be a top contender there. If there is a personification of alpha (fe)male, MM02 would be it.

And for precisely this reason, she won’t want to be with me. I am not alpha. Not even beta or theta or anything close. I am a mere mortal with genes that have made me bald even though I am merely in my 30s. Unlike her, however, I would give an arm and a leg to be with her. After all, as an intelligent human being, I am here to serve two purposes – sustenance and procreation. An opportunity with MM02 would ensure that I sustain and procreate. And create an offspring that keeps my gene going.

If you’re reading this, MM02, you are a wonderful woman. I am glad to have had met you. Thank you for your time. Wish you all the best!

A Brief History of Art and Science / MM01

Leave a comment